09 header
HomeCollegeCoursesStudent DevelopmentStudentsParentsApplyStaff

“The governors have a wide range of appropriate experience and a very clear idea of what the college needs to do to improve. They provide a good level of challenge to the Principal and senior managers. Governors set demanding performance targets and monitor the college's progress towards achieving them rigorously.”
- Ofsted March 2013.

The chair of governors is David Blagbrough, former head of Inspire! (Hackney's Education Business Partnership). The vice-chair is Vivien Cutler, former head teacher and Learning and Skills Council executive, who also chairs the Standards Committee. The chair of the Finance & General Purposes Committee is lawyer Steven Blackshaw and accountant James Cross chairs the Audit Committee.

There are five committees: Finance & General Purposes Committee to subject the College's finances to detailed scrutiny; Audit Committee to ensure that the College's management is compliant with financial rules and regulations; Remuneration Committee to determine the Principal's salary; Search Committee to recruit new governors; and the Standards Committee which examines in detail the academic performance of the College.

Appointed/ Reappointed
Stephen Blackshaw 26.04.16 4 25.04.20 General F&GP
David Blagbrough 30.01.14 4 25.04.20 General F&GP
David Blagbrough 30.01.14 4 29.01.18 General  Standards, Search, Remuneration, F&GP
James Cross 30.01.14 4 29.01.18 General Audit
James Corney 01.09.16 1 31.07.17 Student -
Michael Desmond 28.01.15 4 27.01.19 General -
Alex Gancz 24.3.16 1 23.03.17 General Audit
Shabaz Khan 20.10.16 4 19.10.20 General -
Lajaune Lincoln 23.03.17 2 22.03.19 General Standards
Susie McKenna 30.06.16 4 29.06.20 General -
Sabrina Poma 23.03.17 2 22.03.19 General Standards
Sally Townsend 30.01.14 4 29.01.18 General F&GP, Remuneration, Search
Ken Warman 30.10.06 -   General (Principal) F&GP, Search, Standards